The Constitution

Through the U.S Constitution, the citizens of America have been given their basic rights, fundamental and government laws have been formed and the overall justice system has been set in place. The Constitution was signed on the seventeenth of September in 1787, presided by George Washington as the delegates of the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia signed it. Because of the very first governing document, the Articles of Confederation, the states in America were being run as though they were independent countries.

This was unacceptable and at the 1787 convention, a stronger plan was devised to form a federal government. It would consist of three branches, the executive, the legislative and judicial, all of them being monitored so that each of them have equal power. There is a Bill of Rights, which clearly state that each individual will be granted their basic rights. Freedom of speech, freedom to practice their religion and freedom to live as they want are all in the Bill of Rights. However, to this day, there have been twenty seven amendments made in the Constitution.

The Need for a New Constitution

America’s first constitution, the Articles of Confederation, was approved in 1781, at a time when the nation was just a loose collection of states, all of them allied, but being run like separate countries. The National Government consisted of, the Congress of Confederation, which was a single legislature, without a presidential or judicial branch. The Article of Confederates gave the Congress power to conduct war, regulate currency and govern foreign affairs. However, the reality was that the Congress was sharply limited because it had no real power. It could not enforce its requests to the states for either money or for troops.

After America won its independence from Great Britain in 1783, during the American Revolution, it became apparent that the young republic needed a strong central governing for its own stability. So, in 1786, Alexander Hamilton, who was a lawyer and politician in New York City, asked for a constitutional convention so that the matter could be discussed. The Confederate Congress approved of the idea in February of 1787 and invited all thirteen states to send delegates to a Philadelphia meeting.

Forming a Stronger Union

On the 25th of May, 1787, in Philadelphia, and what is now known as the Independence Hall at Pennysylvania, the Constitutional Convention opened. This is the historic place where the Declaration of Independence has been adopted eleven years earlier. Other than Rhode Island, which did not want a powerful central government to interfere in its economic business, all representing states sent their delegates. There were fifty five delegates in total and George Washington was selected as the president of that convention by a unanimous vote because he was a national hero after leading the Continental Army to victory in the American Revolution.